Watkinson School
180 Bloomfield Ave  Hartford, CT, USA

©2019 BY GLOBAL STUDIES PROGRAM, WATKINSON SCHOOL. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM

The goal of the Global Studies Program is to develop active, engaged global citizens. To expose ourselves to new ideas and opinions, we host speakers at Watkinson School, Skype with experts around the world and travel to talks, plays, conferences and more. 

FALL

Sun Sept 8   Welcoming the Stranger: Fundraiser & Talk with Refugees & IRIS West Hartford 

Fri Sept 20   CT Forum: Conversation with Seth Meyers 

Sat Sept 28     Global Security Forum World Affairs Council @ Goodwin College

Sun Sept 29**   Rosh Hashanah in the Park Congregation Beth Israel in Elizabeth Park 

Wed Oct 2*   Freshly Squeezed:  The Normalization of Hate  Watkinson  

Sat Oct 12   THE INVESTIGATION- A Crime in 10 Acts  HartBeat Ensemble @ Charter Oak Cultural Center 

Sun Oct 13***   American-Chinese Cultural Exchange: Fall Festival at Lyman Orchards

Wed Oct 16   Global Economy: How Stories Go Viral & Drive Major Economic Events

CT World Affairs Council 

Fri Nov 1   An Evening with Vicente Fox, former President of Mexico  

CT World Affairs Council 

Nov 1-3**   Religious Services at a local faith center- Attending with Wat or on your own

Mon Nov 4*    Assembly & Seminar w/ Dorje Dolma, author of Yak Girls

Thurs Nov 7   Bryan Stevenson winner of 2019 Thomas J. Dodd Prize in International Justice and Human Rights @ UCONN

Nov 16 or 17***   American-Chinese Cultural Exchange: A Dong Supermarket

Mon Nov 18   China Town Hall & Teleconference   CT World Affairs Council  Trinity Coll 

Thurs Nov 21   ADL’s Never is Now National Conference- all day in NYC

Fri Nov 22   CT Forum: Climate Crisis 

Fri Dec 13*  Field Trip to NYC: Auschwitz Exhibit @  Museum of Jewish Heritage & Come From Away on Broadway

Sat Jan 11***   American-Chinese Cultural Exchange: American Grocery Stores 

Fri Jan 17   Just Mercy movie at a local theater on the afternoon of our MLK Day

 

 

SPRING

Tues Jan 21* Empathy & Travel Seminar w/ Colleen Dougherty Where There Be Dragons Instructor  

Sun Jan 26 Welcoming Strangers to Our Tents: Honoring the Legacy of Abraham 

Farmington Valley American Muslim Center Avon, CT

Sun Feb 2 Run For Refugees with IRIS in New Haven  

Sat Feb 8*** American-Chinese Cultural Exchange: Lunarfest at Yale  

Thurs Feb 13* Manahatta play at Yale Rep & Visit Native American Art Exhibit @ Yale Art Museum

(leave campus at 4:00pm; return at 11pm)

Thurs Feb 20* Seminar Skype with a Syrian refugee, a NaTakallum program

Mon Mar 2 Disinformation, Propaganda, and Political Warfare World Affairs Council CT 

Tues Mar 3 Global Changemakers: Int’l Women’s Day World Affairs Council CT @ St Joe's Univ 

Wed Mar 4* Equity and Social Justice Day at Watkinson 

Thurs Mar 19 CT Forum: Debating Immigration 

Mon Mar 23 World Water Day at the Capitol with Save the Sound 

Mar 28 or 29*** American-Chinese Cultural Exchange: Gold Roc Diner

Wed Apr 1 Syria and the U.S.: What’s Next?  World Affairs Council @ Mark Twain House 

Apr 5*** American-Chinese Cultural Exchange: Han Hot Pot Restaurant

Tues Apr 21 Foreign Policy in the Election  World Affairs Council CT @ Mark Twain House 

Apr Annual Rising Sun Spring Powwow at UCONN Sat May 2 CT Forum: Our Favorite Authors  

May Taste of Ramadan Community Dinner 

May Munk Debate & Pizza Party Global Studies 

Mon May 19* Global Studies Evening

                               

 

Notes: 

* Mandatory Events off-campus or during school

**Religious Event: Each student is required to attend a religious service on their own or with Watkinson

***American-Chinese Cultural Exchange: Each student is required to one event

"An overarching theme throughout all of the events I attended this trimester seemed to be a call for love and compassion for all, and a plea for open dialogue and respect for all viewpoints."  Sam V '18, Global Studies Diploma Student

2017/18 EVENTS